I wish I knew how to quit you [running blog edition]

In honor of this week’s historic SCOTUS decision, I’m cheekily tying in to a heart wrenching scene from the wonderfully powerful Brokeback Mountain to make the blockbuster, much awaited announcement that I’m picking up the mantle once again and blogging for the people. Did that sound as pretentious as I had intended? There’s no way to declare that you are returning to writing a blog that nobody asked for and hardly anybody reads (thanks Mom!) without sounding a little (lot) self aggrandizing, so I figured I’d go all the way.

I’d planned to pause from the blog for a few months while Awesome Wife Kelly and I made some life transitions. We left NYC, our home for 15 years, traveled around a bit and have just now started to settle down in California. A long, laborious and often wonderful process that got me away from running and certainly away from writing.

During the hiatus I spent some time thinking about the blog. When I started writing I had no goals except to get some of the thoughts crowding my head on to (virtual) paper. I suspected I’d have about zero voluntary readers and get lots of complaints from Awesome Wife Kelly, my family and closest friends who would be required to read my drivel (quizzes at the end of every post). However, after months of writing and dozens of posts, you do start to ask yourself if this is a good time investment. I mean, why not just use this time to run more? Or why not just keep a much simpler and more time efficient journal for myself?  In short – why bother?

The truth is that I really enjoy writing this blog. Indeed, given the total absence of any external reward for maintaining it, there’s no reason to continue the blog except out of a desire to keep running and keep writing. So there you go. I’m back and will be for the foreseeable future.

A few highlights from my time away:

  • I got to spend some time in California wine country. AWK and I made meticulous notes of our roaming, ramblings and tastings throughout Sonoma, with highlights including Ridge, Rafanelli, Imagery and Loxton. Obviously Russian River Brewery is a must for anybody in that part of the world and we also hit Bear Republic, which feels more like a local pub than an iconic brewery. Lest ye be deceived, I am not an oenophile and don’t pretend to be, so I will write no more on this topic
  • Sonoma
  • My time off enabled some great international travel, with Japan as a major highlight. Such a wonderful, odd (to an uninformed American) and fascinating place. Daily runs around the Imperial Palace in Tokyo are a great way to experience running culture in another country
Sumo mismatch

This does not seem like a fair fight.

  • Through the most hectic periods I tried to run 2-3 times per week at 3-6 miles per. This obviously didn’t prepare me for the next race, but hopefully has kept my baseline fitness in a place where I can pick up quickly and get back at it. This relative indolence is one of the major factors leading to the blog hiatus. I mean, if I’m not running, there’s not much to write about

And a few highlights from the blog posts of Christmas future:

  • Metabolic Efficiency Training: I join a fad running movement with a fad running diet to match!
  • Product reviews: Olivers Apparel, the Garmin 225 and Epic Bars
  • Training: For better, and worse, California is a very hot and hilly place to run
  • Rants: On why the people running the Los Feliz city council should be stripped of their jobs for crimes against running
  • Upcoming races: So much to say here

So there you go. All well here and happy to be back on the horse. Hopefully you’ll join once again for the ride.

5 comments

  1. AWK's mom · June 29, 2015

    Go, David, go!! Looking forward to the next big race.

    Like

  2. The Dude Run Run · June 29, 2015

    Me and mine recently made similar but not so drastic move. San Antonio Texas to Portland Oregon. I suffer from a form of blog ADHD. I have two or three going at one time and then delete one and make another. I have never found one solid platform for all of my dalliances. So I am currently with 3 separate ones that sometimes intertwine. A personal one, one for our amateur photography and my recently added running one. I guess my running one is for my own review and I figured make it public. This has led me to many folks similar to me. Your blog being one of them. Please take comfort in the fact that more than your mom just read what you write. Some us are just lurkers.

    Like

    • golddh · June 29, 2015

      Thanks Dude. On my way to check out more of your stuff.

      Like

    • golddh · June 29, 2015

      How do I find your other blogs?

      Like

  3. cindy · July 27, 2015

    Thanks for the encouragement for my race! I was browsing through your site and perked up at your mentions of Imagery and RRB. Loved them both!

    Like

Leave a Reply

