Fresh thoughts on final week marathon planning and tapering

It’s Tuesday, January 20th, 5 days before the New Orleans marathon. As you likely know, I’m contractually obligated by the Union of Running Bloggers (URB) to write a post about final preparations. Taper’s driving me crazy! Lots of carbs! Trying to stick to routine! Not doing anything I haven’t done before! Prepping my race bag! Reviewing the course map one last time – no surprises for me! Okay, now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk about the stuff that matters – what I’ll be eating and drinking. To break ranks with running blog protocol, I’m not talking about carbo loading and hydrating, but about Coop’s jambalaya and Napolean House’s Pimm’s Cup. The race is in New Orleans, which presents special challenges that need to be addressed in this space. There are basically two schools of thought here: 1) You’ve spent four months training for this race. In the final days prior, you should be taking it easy. Eat lean foods, up the carb content of the diet and stay really hydrated. Sightseeing should be minor and low impact. Four months worth of turning in early, skipping out on drinks and running in the freezing cold, come to a glorious, sweat soaked culmination on Sunday. Make it worth it. 2) You can run a marathon any time. You’re in New Orleans, you’d better eat your weight in jambalaya, gumbo and po’ boys. Who cares if you run a few minutes slower, or even if you oversleep and miss the race? Eat every grilled oyster you can find, then buy some more and put them on top of some beignets. Then wash all of this down with Hurricanes. Then wash the Hurricanes down with Hurricanes (note: I know that Hurricanes are disgusting. I still love them). 232323232fp-8->nu=3247>-65>667>WSNRCG=3396893888325nu0mrj Anybody who knows me (and even many who don’t) know that I’m going with option 2. Awesome Wife Kelly and I arrive on Thursday. The rest of our group, including my running partner Lindsey, arrive on Friday. That gives us 2 days of totally guilt free eating. I plan to treat Thursday and Friday just like any other trip to New Orleans. This may mean a couple of extra pounds to lug around the course, but I feel like the overall impact will be pretty light. Maybe I’m lying to myself. Because I’m a responsible person I plan to take it relatively easy on Saturday. How easy depends on what restaurants we end up at, and how much grief my buddies give me. I mean, if they’re REALLY making fun of me, I may have to cave a bit. They do say that drinking is fine so long as you have two glasses of water for every alcoholic drink. Plus there’s that old adage (read: lie) about beer being a good source of carbs. So there’s that. Some more silver lining: if I show up hung over and bloated and wreck 4 months of training with a DNF, at least I’ll have great fodder for Monday’s blog post. Finally, and with no real reason, I’d like to recall an all time great homage to New Orleans, courtesy of The Simpsons:

A day so cold the fountain froze - we still had hurricanes outside

A day so cold the fountain froze – we still had hurricanes outside

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AaJjZ9svMYM Long before the Superdome Where the Saints of football play… Lived a city that the damned call home Hear their hellish rondelet… New Orleans! Home of pirates, drunks and whores New Orleans! Tacky overpriced souvenir stores If you want to go to hell, you should take a trip To the Sodom and Gomorrah of the Mississip’ New Orleans! Stinking, Rotten, vomiting, vile New Orleans Putrid, brackish, maggotty, foul New Orleans! Crummy, lousy, rancid, and rank New Orleans!

7 comments

  1. aliceruns · January 21, 2015

    Good luck on the race! Godspeed!

    Like

  2. alileevet · January 21, 2015

    Jambalaya? Po’boys? Hurricanes? Beignets? What… are these things? Are you SURE they are foods…? My sheltered Irish upbringing did not feature such delicacies sadly! Good luck anyway!

    Like

    • golddh · January 21, 2015

      Oh you are missing out on so much. I insist you go to New Orleans right away to find out!

      Liked by 1 person

      • alileevet · January 21, 2015

        I’m a vegan so probably not… Unless they are meat, egg and dairy free? Coz that’d be cool 🙂

        Like

      • golddh · January 21, 2015

        Alas, I’m afraid not. Very unhealthy but very delicious.

        Like

      • alileevet · January 21, 2015

        Darn. I’m sure there’s vegan versions available but they probably don’t quite taste the same. Sigh!

        Like

Leave a Reply

